Week 9 – 6 March 2016 / Sunday

Week 9 – 6 March 2016 / Sunday
3.5 cm x 16.5 cm – (s 6mm plastic)
double yarn – knit / purl; every other line

This was a big day for knitting – although the Time Piece itself had only a small contribution. I started knitting in the morning to finish the Time Piece before going out for lunch to celebrate UK Mother’s Day with family. I only had a small bit of the flecked magenta yarn left and wanted to use it up. I ended up running out and having to attach a new magenta yarn in order to finish the line and cast off.

IMG_2879
I brought needles and Feb lead yarn with me and while we drove to the restaurant l looked up the bunting triangle pattern and started to try to knit a triangle.
I did not bring my knitting into the restaurant but carried on in the car as we went to M’s for tea and dessert. I carried on knitting when we got there. This time, seated at a large table full of desserts the knitting did help me not to eat too much…thankfully!
IMG_2864
I ended up ripping the first (and half of the second) triangle out, because the angle did not seem right for either bunting or my own purposes:

I decided to knit a triangle for each of the months with their lead colour – so that I have a colour wheel of the 12 months of this year at the end…a ‘pie chart’ of the lead colours.
Halfway through my second triangle I abandoned the pattern and just worked with my own intuition. I was starting from the ‘point’ outward and adding stitches as I increased.
The pattern was:
Cast on 2 stitches
Knit across
K1, loop yarn over needle (yo), K1
Knit all three stiches, treating the yo like a normal stitch
K3
K3
K1,yo,K1,yo,K1
K5
K5
K5
K1,yo,K1,yo,K1, yo, K1,
K7
K7
K7
K1,yo,K1,yo,K1 all the stitches until the last one,
Knit across
Knit across
Knit across (repeat until happy)
Cast off
(or something like that – thisis what my notes say anyway- the website link was in last Time Piece the week before when I found the pattern online.)

IMG_2942I found it hard to know what it really meant but I think I figured it out – but the angle was too wide too soon, so eventually I started just adding a single stitch every line (J suggested that as how she would do it) or randomly when it seemed time to increase the angle as I built up from the point.

I learned that it is best not to add a stitch at the end of the row – better to bury it a few stitches in so the edges are solid and have integrity. I had fun just playing around and trying to grasp the geometry of it.

I also enjoyed being in a room with several seasoned knitters and hearing some of their interests in knitting. D showed me a scarf she had knitted for many people this winter for Xmas presents with a very funky yarn.

Later when we got home I knitted another triangle using the ‘January’ lead yarn…which actually was never used in January because I had not thought of doing a lead yarn yet…but if I had thought of it – this is the colour I would have chosen. It is the light purple yarn with the tiny sequins that I used.

I also knitted a swatch for my ‘Month of Sundays’ stash…using the solid magenta I had finished of the Time Piece with earlier in the day. I forgot that I cast on 24 stitches last week and I went for 31 this time. As it is about months rather than days of the week.

IMG_2936

Leave a Reply

